Silver Medal Award

Deadline to submit nominations: January 31, 2023

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award was established nationwide in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding, career-long contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, following creative excellence and have shown leadership in areas of social concern. AAF Roanoke’s Silver Medal award serves to recognize outstanding individuals for his or her advertising and community involvement on a local level.

To date, AAF Roanoke has awarded the Silver Medal to 39 individuals since its inception in 1966.

2023 – Amy Pearman

2022 – Peggy Underwood

2021 – Kris Bailey

2020 – Bruce Jacobson

2019 – Tommy Holcomb

2018 – Katie Wallace and Steve Huff

2016 – Lindy Adams and John Anstey

2015 – Todd Marcum

2011 – Bill Houck (AAF Palm Springs-Desert Cities)

2010 – Tony Pearman

2009 – Terri Jones

2007 – David Hodge

2006 – Richard Boyd

2003 – Robin Chalkley

2002 – Sandy Murray

2001 – Freda Carper

2000 – Greg Vaughn

1991 – Jim Webster

1990 – Howard Packett

1989 ­ – Jan Wilkins

1988 – Larry Bly

1987 – Don Foutz

1985 – Julie McDowell

1984 – William B. Houck, Sr.

1983 – Fred Mugler (Frelantz)

1982 – Mamie Vest

1981 – Dick Burton

1980 – Dale Poindexter

1979 – Claude Harrison

1978 – Wiley Wright

1977 – Herb Weaver

1976 – Burt Levine

1975 – Jerry Conrad

1974 – Bill Snider

1973 – Gordon LeGarde

1972 – John Harkrader

1971 – Cecil Edmonds

1970 – Chuck McKeever

1969 – C.B. Houck

1968 – Clay Ferguson, Jr.

1967 – Shields Johnson

1966 – John Will Creasy

Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges made up of previous Silver Medal winners. Judges use the following criteria when making their selections. It’s important to note that nominations should show career-long contributions to each set of nomination criteria. A nomination that only includes criteria for how the nominee performed at their job, for example, is likely not going to be considered as nominations that show examples for all of the criteria. Because this nomination is intended to show breadth and scope of the nominee’s work, please include at least three examples for each criteria on the form.


Again, it’s important to note that nominations should show career-long contributions to each set of nomination criteria.

Contribution to his/her company

The recipient must have achieved long-term success in one of the following areas of work: advertising, media, broadcast, design, digital or advertising vendor or service.

Creative ability

The recipient must have shown a consistent, long-term high degree of creative, original thinking in their field.

Contributions to the general advancement of advertising

The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

Contributions to the community

The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

Awards and Board Positions

List any applicable awards or board positions held by the nominee.

For questions about the criteria, or for more information about what makes a successful nomination, contact Bill Houck at or Ananda Gilmore at

Deadline to submit nominations: January 31, 2023